Saturday, March 12, 2011

Tsunami Alert Lifted

Thanks goodness, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) has lifted the tsunami alert for 19 provinces issued earlier Friday, hours after a deadly 8.8 magnitude earthquake struck Japan.

The 19 provinces that was under watched:
• Batanes Group of Islands
• Cagayan
• Ilocos Norte
• Isabela
• Quezon
• Aurora
• Camarines Norte
• Camarines Sur
• Albay
• Catanduanes
• Sorsogon
• Northern Samar
• Eastern Samar
• Leyte
• Southern Leyte
• Surigao del Norte
• Surigao del Sur
• Davao Oriental
• Davao del Sur

However, Phivolcs noted that the public is still advised to avoid going to the beach and sailing out to the sea and boat operators at sea should as well coordinate to port authorities for unusual currents.
The Phivolcs recorded several tsunamis that measured less than a meter in several provinces from 6:00 pm to 10:00 pm. The highest “unusual wave” was at a maximum of 70 cm. The tsunami waves recorded at Santa Ana, Cagayan (60 cm-6:00pm) second wave: 60 cm at 6:20 pm; third wave 40cm-6:50; and 40-cm-7:30 pm); Virac, Catanduanes (First wave-40cm-6:30 pm; Second wave 60cm-7:10 pm; and Third wave-70 cm-7:50 pm); in Infanta, Quezon people have reported seeing waves measuring up to 30cm at around 7:10 pm while a less than a meter wave has also been recorded in Surigao.

In Baler, Aurora, NDRRMC said it recorded the 1st wave, 40 cm-6:30PM, second wave at 40 cm-7:10PM; third wave, 30 cm-8:00 pm.

No comments: